The Archbishop Hannan Community Appeal

Watch Sr. Marjorie Hebert’s Kickoff Message for the Archbishop Hannan Community Appeal!

The Archbishop Hannan Community Appeal (AHCA), formerly the Archbishop’s Community Appeal (ACA), is an annual, volunteer-driven fundraising campaign which supports the work of Catholic Charities. This year, the AHCA is led by Archbishop Gregory Aymond and 2023 chairs Anne and Jack Dardis.

Your Gift Stays in Your Community and Helps Those Most in Need

Gifts to the AHCA raise crucial undesignated funds that allow Catholic Charities to respond swiftly, effectively and compassionately in times of crisis or disaster. Your donation means supporting a local charity that best understands local needs. We serve the 8 civil parishes that make up the Archdiocese of New Orleans: Orleans, Jefferson, St. Tammany, St. Bernard, Plaquemines, St. Charles, St. John, and Washington parishes.

We Deliver Quality Services to Those in Need

Catholic Charities is accredited by the Council of Accreditation, which requires a high standard of service delivery and administration. We are one of only 21 accredited non-profits in Louisiana.

A Long Tradition in New Orleans

The Archbishop’s Community Appeal (ACA) was started in 1965 by Archbishop Philip M. Hannan in the wake of Hurricane Betsy and in response to the overwhelming needs of the poor in New Orleans. In 2012, Archbishop Gregory Aymond and the Catholic Charities Board of Directors renamed this annual giving campaign in memory of Archbishop Philip M. Hannan, its founder, as a way of honoring his life’s legacy of service to the poor in our community.

Today, the campaign raises funds for many of the same needs and challenges still facing our community. We continue to count on our friends and supporters like you for the monies needed to fund the valuable programs of Catholic Charities.

In these uncertain times, our efforts remain the same: through housing, healthcare, education, and emergency response, we are changing lives for the better.



AHCA Volunteer Resource Page>> Volunteers click here to access your resources for this year’s campaign.

AHCA Leadership

Most Reverend Gregory M. Aymond
Archbishop of New Orleans

2023 Chairs

Anne and Jack Dardis


Byron A. Adams V. Price LeBlanc
John C. Arthurs Wayne J. Lee
Eleanora Bazile-Brooks Peter F. Maunoir
Mark R. Beebe Timothy P. McLanahan
Gayle M. Benson Robert L. Menard
Ronald B. Blitch Anne M. Milling
Gerald Bologna Leann O. Moses
Daniel P. Bourgeois Michael E. Nolan
Joseph C. Canizaro Lawrence P. Oertling
Anh Q. Cao Frances Omner
Charles P. Carriere Kirth M. Paciera
Barbara C. Collura Claiborne Perrilliat
Francis A. Courtenay Lynn G. Poche
Mason & Jennifer Couvillon Michael O. Read
Robert J. Crifasi Michael O. Read
Joan B. Cuccia Lee C. Reid
John J. Dardis Jean S. Rice
Karen S. DeBlieux Sharon R. Rodi
Pierre G. Detiege Brian J. Rotolo
Elizabeth V. Downing Samuel Rottman
Brandt J. Dufrene Frank E. Schmidt
Willard L. Dumas Timothy J. Sicard
Joseph S. Exnicios Frederick J. Sigur
Michael R. Fontham George R. Simno III
Stephen M. Gele Renny Simno
Lynne C. Gibbons William M. Soniat
Mary Beth Green Mark J. Spansel
Kathleen R. Hebert Adrienne Steen
Marjorie Hebert William T. Steen
Suzette Herpich Alex L. Suffrin
Cory J. Howat Lloyd A. Tate
John A. Hummel James C. Thomas
Lisa M. Johnson Tommie A. Vassel
Mary S. Johnson Stafford J. Viator
Susan R. Johnson Debra Vogel
Ronald J. Jung John J. Weiler
Harold J. Lamy Madeline D. West
Betty V. Lauricella Helen R. Young
Clifton D. LeBlanc  

Past Chairpersons

Most Rev. Philip M. Hannan, 1966 Peter R. Quirk, 1995
Harry N. Charbonnet, 1967, 1968 Everett J. Williams, Ph.D., 1996
C.C. Clifton, Jr., 1969, 1970 Michael O. Read, 1997
Robert C. McIntyre, 1971 William Finegan, 1998
A. Louis Read, 1972 Jack C. Benjamin, Sr., 1999
Charles J. Derbes, Jr., 1973 Claiborne Perrilliat, 2000
Murray C. Fincher, 1973, 1974 Leon J. Reymond, Jr., 2001
H. Douglas Lowrey, 1974 John and Mary Jane Becker, 2002
Gerard W. Barousse, 1975 John Kallenborn, 2003
Robert L. Pettit, Jr., 1975, 1976 Susan Johnson, 2004
Frank B. Stewart, Jr., 1975, 1976 Joseph Exnicios, 2005, 2006
G. Frank Purvis, Jr., 1977 Robert W. Nuzum, 2007
William S. “Mike” Smith, Jr., 1978 Madeline Doucet West, 2008
E. Howard Read, 1979 Rita Benson LeBlanc, 2009
J. Garic Schoen, 1980 Mark J. Spansel, 2010
Thomas C. Mancini, 1981 David Andignac, 2011
Maurice J. Hartson, III, 1982 Byron and Shannon Adams, 2012
Harold S. Dey, 1983 JT Hannan, 2013
John B. Levert, Jr., 1984 Mason and Jennifer Couvillon, 2014
Clayton J. Charbonnet, 1985 Clifton and Elizabeth LeBlanc, 2015
Michael J. Rapier, 1986 Price and Christine LeBlanc, 2015
Norman R. Kerth, 1987 Paul Fine, 2016
Michael R. Fontham, 1988 Byron A. Adams, Jr. and Michael O. Read, 2017
Betty Lauricella, 1989 Tommie A. Vassel, 2018
Elmo. J. Cerise, M.D., 1990 Peter and Karen DeBlieux, 2019
Joseph J. Krebs, Jr., 1991 Helen and Tim Young, 2020
Anne Milling, 1992 Jacqueline and Renny Simno, 2021
Robert B. Acomb, Jr., 1993 Vaughn & Doug Downing, 2022
Joseph C. Canizaro, 1994